Host Towns

Always keeping in mind crossing Portugal from north to south, Transportugal travels the country for a total of 8 days.

Each host town that welcomes the arrival of a stage and the start of the next day has its own personality and centuries-old history.

  • Braga -is a city and a municipality, capital of the northwestern Portuguese district of Braga and of the historical and cultural Minho Province. Braga Municipality had a resident population of 193,333 inhabitants (in 2021), representing the seventh largest municipality in Portugal by population. Its area is 183.40 km2. Its agglomerated urban area extends to the Cávado River and is the third most populated urban area in Portugal, behind Lisbon and Porto Metropolitan Areas.
  • Peso da Régua – commonly known as Régua, is a municipality in northern Portugal, in the district of Vila Real. The population in 2011 was 17,131 (of which approximately 10,000 are in the town of Régua), in an area of 94.86 km2 (36.63 sq mi) km².égua
  • Manteigas – is a town and a municipality in Portugal. The population in 2011 was 3,430,[1] in an area of 121.98 square kilometres (47.10 sq mi). The municipality is located in Guarda District; in Centro Region and Beira Interior Norte Subregion. It is located in the Serra da Estrela Mountains, the highest elevation in mainland Portugal. Cities nearby: Guarda, Seia, Gouveia and Covilhã.
  • Miranda do Corvo – is a town and a municipality in the Portuguese district of Coimbra, with an area of 126.38 square kms (48.80 sq mi) and 2011 population of 13,098 inhabitants. The municipality is limited in the northeast by Vila Nova de Poiares, east by Lousã, southeast by Figueiró dos Vinhos, southwest by Penela, west by Condeixa-a-Nova and northwest by Coimbra. The region is crossed by the Rio Ceira, Rio Dueça (also known as the Corvo River) and Rio Alheda. Miranda do Corvo is approximately 30 minutes (by bus) from the city centre of Coimbra.
  • Alter do Chão – is a municipality in the District of Portalegre in Portugal. The population in 2011 was 3,562, in an area of 362.07 km2. The municipality is famous for its horsebreeding and high school of horseriding.ão
  • Albernoa – is a civil parish in the municipality of Beja, Portugal. It was formed in 2013 by the merger of the former parishes Albernoa and Trindade. The population in 2011 was 1,032, in an area of 209.39 km2.
  • Monchique – is a municipality of southern Portugal, in Faro District (province of Algarve). The population in 2011 was 6,045, in an area of 395.30 km2. The Municipality of Monchique is situated in the Serra de Monchique and together with the town of Monchique is a tourist destination. Attractions include a historic town centre, views from the two peaks of Foia and Picota, hiking, bird watching and biking. There are hot sulfur springs, with baths and health spas 6 kilometres (4 mi) south in ‘Caldas de Monchique’ (Spring of Monchique). Eucalyptus, cork oak, oranges, lemons, honey, olive oil, chestnuts, scissor chairs made from chestnut wood, black pork and black pork ham and sausages are the chief products. There are several small industries producing tourist artifacts that are sold in local shops, and medronho, a local brew made from distilled medronho berries (Arbutus/Strawberry Tree), is produced.
  • Vilamoura – is a coastal resort in the Loulé municipality in Algarve, Portugal. It is one of the three corners of Algarve’s Golden Triangle. Vilamoura comprises one of the largest single tourist complexes in Europe and with about 2,000 hectares of land. The nearest airport is in Faro.